Inaugural “Astellas Innovation in Prostate Cancer Research” Grant Awards

Inaugural Astellas Innovation Grants in Prostate Cancer Research have been awarded to:

Dr. Tony Finelli
“Measuring the quality of care, long-term outcomes, and health care utilization in low risk prostate cancer (PC) patients undergoing active surveillance: a population-based approach”.

Dr. Shabir Alibhai
“Prescribing a reduction of sedentary time to improve cancer-related fatigue in men with prostate cancer”.

Dr. Andrei Drabovich
“Non-invasive diagnosis of prostate cancer and stratification of its molecular subtypes using genomic profiling of circulating tumor cells isolated from semen”.

Dr. Neil Fleshner
“Prostate biopsy avoidance using combination PCA3 and multiparametric magnetic resonance scanning in selected patient cohorts”.

Division of Urology 2015 Awards


John Honey has been selected as this year’s winner of the James Waddell Mentoring Award in recognition of his excellent mentoring of junior Faculty in the Division of Urology at St. Michael’s Hospital.

Michael Jewett is the recipient of an award from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) for his project “Determining the Research Priorities of Canadian Kidney Cancer Patients, Caregivers and Clinicians: A Priority Setting Partnership for Kidney Cancer”. This award was ranked #1 in the entire competition.

Laurence Klotz received the Order of Canada, one of our country’s highest civilian honours, recognizing outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. He received this honour for his contributions to the treatment of prostate cancer, notably for leading the adoption of active surveillance as a standard aspect of patient care.

Laurence Klotz also received the Canadian Cancer Sociery O. Harold Warwick Prize which is given annually to honour distinguished investigators who have undertaken studies in Canada that have led to significant advances in cancer control.

Girish Kulkarni received the 2015 Bernard Langer Surgeon Scientist Award, which is awarded to an outstanding graduate of the Surgeon Scientist Program in the Department of Surgery, who shows the greatest promise for a career in academic surgery.

Ken Pace was awarded the 2015 St. Michael’s Hospital Complete Physician Award at the annual hospital Educational Achievement Day.


Hanmu Yan (PGY 4) received the 2015 D.R. Wilson Award for Teaching. This award is given to the surgical resident who is rated by undergraduate students as being an outstanding teacher. The resident will demonstrate both a positive attitude toward teaching and will be considered a good surgical role model for undergraduate medical students