2012-2013 Issue

The Division Of Urology has had a productive academic year. We currently span 27 geographic full time faculty as well as 3 full-time PhD scientists, spanned over 6 fully affiliated University-based hospitals. We train over 40 students including 24 Residents and 17 Fellows. The Division welcomed a new leader as Dr. Neil Fleshner assumed the Martin Barkin Chair after 11 years of strong leadership from Dr. Sender Herschorn.


Dr. Robert Hamilton joined our faculty in the Summer of 2012.

Academic Promotion

Dr. Robert Nam was promoted to Full Professor. Dr. Rajiv Singal was promoted to Assistant Professor.

Research Grants

The Division of Urology had a banner year in terms of peer-reviewed grant capture. The following faculty served as PI’s or Co- PI’s on peer-reviewed grants totaling over 3 million dollars:

  • Michael Jewett
  • Antonio Finelli
  • Magdy Hassouna
  • Neil Fleshner
  • Robert Hamilton
  • Girish Kulkarni
  • Andrew Matthew
  • Bharti Bapat
  • Darius Bagli
  • Keith Jarvi

Resident/Fellow Awards

Dr. David Margel (Fellow) was granted 2 awards from the Health Policy Management and Evaluation (HPME) Department including the Claire Bombardier Award for the most promising researcher. Dr. Nathan Perlis (PGY4) won best poster at the HPME annual research Day. Dr. Li Ming Wong (Fellow) won best poster award at the American Urological Association Annual Meeting.

Faculty Awards

Congratulations to the following members of our Division who received Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medals: Drs. Trachtenberg, Jewett, Klotz, and Fleshner. Dr. Fleshner has been named to the GU Surgeons. Dr. Herschorn was elected General Secretary of the International Continence Society. Dr. Laurence Klotz continues as Chair of the World Uro-Oncology Federation. Dr. Fleshner has been elected Chair of the Canadian Uro-Oncology group. Faculty teaching awards went to Drs. Robert Nam, Girish Kulkarni, Robert Hamilton, Antonio Finelli and Kirk Lo.

Visiting Professors

Dr. Marston Linehan was our Menkes Lecturer. Dr. Joel Nelson was our Robson Professor. Dr. Edward Messing was our Colapinto Lecturer. Urology Update visitors included: Drs. Timothy Boone, Toby Chai, Paul Russo, Adam Kibel, Alvaro Morales, Michael Ritchey, and Fred Saad.

Division Firsts

Dr. Girish Kulkarni performed the first robotic radical cystectomy. Dr. Antonio Finelli chaired and organized the first “Robotic Surgery in Ontario” symposium. Drs. Jason Lee, Ken Pace, John Honey, Antonio Finelli, Marcus Barnardini, Kazuhiro Yasufuku, Tom Waddell – organized the first U of T Multi-Disciplinary Robotic Surgery Basic Skills Training Course

Leadership Changes

Dr. Fleshner has assumed the Martin Barkin Chair as University Chair. Dr. Martin Koyle has taken over as Division Chief at Hospital for Sick Children after a strong term by Dr. Joao Pippi-Salle. The following residents attained their Royal College Certification:

  • Dr. Ahmed Haddad
  • Dr. Raj Satkunasivam